THIS CITY

A year ago, I left Cagayan de Oro for a job in another city. Back then, I was really determined to perform well in my job as a Customer Service Representative for one of the biggest online marketplace in America. While it was good to get a big pay by just resolving people’s concern over the phone, I felt like something was holding me back to stay in the company. Then, months passed by and I started to have this longing feeling not just for my family and friends but also for the city itself. So, I left my job and went home.

Cagayan de Oro is not that much of a big city but what I like about this city is that it still has its local feel. If you happen to scout its streets, you can still see some homegrown establishments that offer services that is at par or even better than the franchised fast food chains and coffee shops that are sprouting like mushrooms everywhere in town . Take a look around Divisoria and you can see what I am talking about. You can also check Corrales Street and J.R. Borja Street for some local shops that showcase the Kagay-anon culture.

c3

c2

Another thing about Cagayan de Oro is its geographical location. I like the way that this city was built near a body of water which is the Macajalar Bay, an area of open sea stretching from the El Salvador City to Balingoan.  Everyday you can see ferries docking on the city’s port or sailing away from it – disappearing into the horizon and making its way towards its destination. Also, it gives you a clear view of the Camiguin Island on a sunny day – the peak of Mt.Hibok-Hibok looking majestic as white clouds hover above it.

beach collage 2

Lastly, I love Cagayan de Oro because it offers me both the urban and rural life. Sure it is busy but it is not as hectic compared to the larger cities here in the country. Traffic congestion is moderate and all the amenities are situated in the heart of the city such as Limketkai Center and Centrio Ayala Mall which are two of the biggest shopping centers in town. Also if I want to escape from the city rush and prefer to be one with nature, I can go to Mapawa Nature Park or the Eco-Tourism Village in the mountains of Malasag. I can even go to Dahilayan Adventure Park in Bukidnon because it is only an hour-and-a-half ride from the city.

C1

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

I am the kind of person who really loves to travel. I love to be in new places and see new faces. Nothing is better than satisfying your lust to wander but to be stuck in a place away from home for an indefinite period of time because of work and to be on your own is a different story. No matter how beautiful and promising other cities are, you will always come back to the city where you were born and bred.

signature

Leave a Reply

