FFDB58 + FEMINISM

I have never liked the color mustard yellow—especially in clothes. For me, it seems like it doesn’t suit my morena skin because I think it makes me look darker. Thanks to this fashion blogger that I look up to as my current style icon, that belief has been dismissed.

I found this shirt at a department store for an affordable price. The first time I laid my eyes on it, I knew I was going to buy it. It has the right shade of yellow that I’m currently obsessing with and I love the statement printed on it for it talks about feminism.

12LRM_EXPORT_20170428_173956

“The Future Is Female” is a slogan that resurfaced from the ‘70s. It was printed on a shirt that was made for Labyris Books, the first women’s bookstore in New York City. Today, a company called Otherwild in Los Angeles is reproducing these shirts to promote feminism and gender equality. In addition to that, 25% of the sale proceeds from these items is donated to Planned Parenthood.

There have been numerous negative feedback with regards to this statement saying that it does not promote gender equality but rather, it implies dominance of one gender over another. Regardless of these comments, I think that this phrase is empowering to all women, promotes freedom to all gender, and is definitely against sexism so I am proud that I get to flaunt it on a shirt. Nothing makes me happy than doing something that gives me a sense of purpose.

LRM_EXPORT_20170426_120834

How about you? Will you wear this shirt? Let me know in the comments below.

signature

Photos by Sam Daniel

Leave a Reply

